Skip to main content

July 2020 Production

 

‘MR BENNET’S BRIDE’

Written by EMMA WOOD
Directed by VICKY CASTORINA

Venue: Reading and Auditions at Elanora Community Centre, 49A Kalang Road, Elanora Heights.

Date: Wed 12th Feb 7.30pm

We attempted to produce this play in 2019 but due to unforeseen circumstances had to postpone and as such some roles were cast and in fairness, these actors have been given first option to accept again.

Roles yet to be filled include:

Robert Bennet: 55-60, (M) the master of Longbourne has never recovered from being widowed early in life

James Bennet: 28 years old, (M) mischievous and highly intelligent, adept at play acting to avoid responsibilities

Benedict Collins: 50’s (M) abrasive, over-familiar, self-important, greedy, he carries a strong resentment for Robert

Emily Gardiner: 17, (F) striking, has an irrepressible spirit, lacks modesty, flirtatious, superficial in her judgments

Mrs Bowman: 45-55, (F) Mother of Clara

Clara Bowman: Early 20s, (F) Prospective bride for James

Audition Wed 26th 7.30pm same venue, if required. Parts may be cast at the reading if possible.

Rehearsal times are Tuesday and Thursday evenings 7.30pm – 10.30pm approx. starting Tuesday 28th April.

Show dates are;

Friday 10th July 8pm Opening night

Saturday 11th July 3pm & 8pm

Sunday 12th July 11am & 3pm

Thursday 16th July 8pm

Friday 17th July 8pm

Saturday 18th July 3pm & 8pm

Bump-in;

Friday 3rd July, Saturday 4th (lunch provided) and Sunday 5th if required (all cast required).

Technical run Monday 6th July 8pm

Dress Rehearsal Tuesday 7th July 8pm

Bump-out;

Sunday 19th July (all required)

Please contact Vicki on 0409 896 063 or at vicki.castorina@hotmail.com for all matters relating to this production.

Synopsis 

Mr Bennet’s Bride by Emma Wood is set in the 1780s, 25 years before the novel Pride and Prejudice opens. The play concerns the ill-suited couple Mr and Mrs Bennet, portrayed with such humour in that famous novel, and examines how they met and decided to marry.